arts / iran / Schedule

Six Pillars Broadcast – Reuse Q8 Festival, Kuwait

reuse2

20160403_125052

At a local market

This week we hear the voices of a festival in Kuwait city celebrating recycling and conscious creativity in the arts. With an international rosta of performers and artists presenting their site specific works, the festival reached out to Kuwait’s youth by providing a free mini-festival during the day, and an evening programme of performances in a state of the art theatre. Also part of the festival’s itinerary was to create a community of artists and show them aspects of the country’s rich art and architecture. The festival was organised by Resuse Labs, Zahed Sultan and Red Bull Music Kuwait.20160331_120138

Featured in this week’s show are: singer and performer Magic Island (Berlin), Lucia Topalian director of Dar Al Funoon gallery Kuwait, Maurice Mikkers with the Imaginarium of Tears (Rotterdam) and artist Cheb Moha of (Iraq / Canada, currently homeless) plus an interview with an Egyptian Coptic living in Kuwait, with the below shrine in her nail bar.

20160331_120205Broadcasts Wednesday March 6th 9-9.30pm GMT (midnight-12.30am GST).

Repeats the following Friday 3.30pm GMT (7.30pm GST)

Listen on air across London on 104.4FM, or on digital radio over London, or online elsewhere.

Advertisements